Ronald H. Brown American Journey Awards

About the Awards

The Ronald H. Brown American Journey Award was established in 2009 to honor outstanding Americans who exemplify the vision and transformative ideals of Ronald H. Brown (1941-1996).  Ronald H. Brown American Journey Awards are granted to individuals who have developed opportunities and fostered the achievements of others.  Like the late Ron Brown, these role models demonstrate through their life experiences the importance of mentoring, service and nurturance of a network of leaders in America.  They embody the spirit of the Ron Brown Scholar Program mission and serve as a model to which Scholars should aspire.

Previous Honorees:


Mr. Robert F. Smith
Founder, Chairman & CEO
Vista Equity



Mr. Earvin "Magic" Johnson
CEO and Chairman,
Magic Johnson Enterprises (MJE)

The Honorable Eric H. Holder, Jr.
Former United States Attorney General
Partner, Covington & Burling LLP


Thomas Hale Boggs, Jr.



Mr. Kenneth I. Chenault
CEO and Chairman,
American Express



Dr. Wanda M. Austin
President and CEO,
The Aerospace Corporation

Mr. Earl G. Graves, Sr.
Founder, Black Enterprise


Dr. Regina M. Benjamin
18th Surgeon General
of the United States

Mr. Anthony M. Pilaro
CAP Advisers Limited


Mr. Thomas Hale Boggs, Jr.

Mr. Julian Bond
Activist and Civil Rights Leader

Mrs. C. Sylvia & Mr. Eddie C. Brown
Brown Capital Management


Mr. Norman R. Rales

Mrs. Mona K. Sutphen
Former, White House Deputy
Chief of Staff for Policy
(Obama Administration)


Mr. Aaron S. Williams
RTI International


Ron Brown Scholar Emerging Leader Award Recipients


Samuel Alemayehu, RBS 2004


Jason W. Young, RBS 2000